At HuffPo:

10 Reasons Why Handheld Devices Should Be Banned for Children Under the Age of 12

I haven’t read the literature on handheld devices and exposure to blue light after dark myself, so I don’t have an informed opinion one way or the other.

What concerns me greatly, however, is the fact that our superintendent has not read the literature, either, yet he has established a goal of making technology in the classroom as “ubiquitous” as pencil and paper.

From what I can see, the board of education is not enthusiastic about technology for the sake of technology; to the best of my knowledge, the board has not voted to make technology “ubiquitous.”

Unfortunately, the fact that the board has not established a formal goal of making technology ubiquitous is neither here nor there.

Seeking board approval for a policy change is not a strength of our current superintendent.

AND SEE:
Response to administrator technology memo
Buying technology – business v. schools
John D on flipped classrooms and board policy
Wrong track
“Our goal”
The digital natives are restless
Flipped classrooms (and more) in IUFSD
Email from an NYU student on his experience in a flipped classroom